Fresh Pesto Movie Night

Today ended up being just the nice relaxing day I had planned. After hitting up the gym for Club Strength I came home to see Joey still home, he was headed off to play some hockey. Right away I made some lunch because all that weight pumpin made me starving.

Thomas Light English Muffin with cottage cheese and flax on one side, and 1 egg + 2eggwhites on the other

Thomas Light English Muffin with cottage cheese and flax on one side, and 1 egg + 2eggwhites on the other

After I headed to Whole Foods to pick up some SECRET BLOGGER GOODIES!!! I of course ended up spending more than I wanted, as always, but I picked up some nice fresh pesto to use for tonights dinner….I am making Joey Pesto Pasta with Chicken.

On the walk home I ate a fuji apple.

When I put away all the unnecessary groceries and started my secret blogger package, I went to whipping up a batch of Angela’s Raw Granola Bars at Oh She Glows.

DSC_0003

DSC_0004I put these in the freezer right after making them…can’t wait to try them out!!!!

Pre-Dinner Snack

Skyr yogurt with Kashi Golean + 2 Island Vanilla Shredded Wheat, scoop of Pumpkin butter (SO GOOD) and Raw almond butter

Skyr yogurt with Kashi Golean + 2 Island Vanilla Shredded Wheat, scoop of Pumpkin butter (SO GOOD) and Raw almond butter

For some reason I have been getting bad stomach aches about 30 min after eating a big portion of yogurt or cottage cheese. I think I need to cut back on the dairy a little bit to see if it helps…I bought some hemp milk to try out for the first time!

Do you get any side effects from dairy when you eat it too much?

Have you ever tried Hemp milk and do you like it?

Dinner

Pesto Salmon filet ontop of a bed of mixed veggies, arugula, spinach, and mozzarella

Pesto Salmon filet ontop of a bed of mixed veggies, arugula, spinach, and mozzarella

Joey's Pesto Chicken Pasta with Pre-cooked Chicken and Pepper kabobs (off the kabob)

Joey's Pesto Chicken Pasta with Pre-cooked Chicken and Pepper kabobs (off the kabob)

Mixed Olives in Chili Marinade

Mixed Olives in Chili Marinade

This dinner was so nice, healthy, and summery. I keep forgetting how good fresh pesto is!!!!!

Tonight Joey and I are going to watch a movie from On Demand. Maybe some dessert will be involved….as always…

Oh right! Dessert is a def. because the lovely Brooke over at Home Girl Can Eat has been having the most delish looking ice cream cones. I forgot to get me some cones, but I got some yummalicious ice cream in the freezer. Cones are the grocery list!!!

Bonsoir Mon Amis!!!!!

6 responses to “Fresh Pesto Movie Night

  1. How do you like that Skyr yogurt? I’ve seen it and I’m curious but it’s maaadd expense

    • It is mad expensive so I only buy it when 1. it is in stock and 2. I really want it haha. I have only tried the plain and it’s really good, but a bit more tart I think that Fage. I think the vanilla or blueberry flavors would be awesome, but I haven’t gotten around to trying them yet.

  2. homegirlcaneat

    YAY you get those cones mamasita, you get them!

  3. Hey I got your question about the granola bars- yes if you cook them they will harden like a normal granola bar! I didnt like them as much cookied but I think I overcooked mine. I would try just 10 mins at 350 and then let them cool and see if they firm enough, I think I cooked mine for way too long (20-25 mins) and they got brown.

  4. Where did you sign up for the secret blogger thing? I wanna get involved! The salmon looks so good. I haven’t had fish in soo long.

Leave a Reply

